Rock My TBR Challenge 2016: The Classics

About a month and a half ago, I wrote a post called “Sometimes I Feel Like A Fraud”.  In that post, I talked about how I really haven’t read any books that most people would refer to as “classics”.  At the end of the post, I swore that I was going to do some kind of challenge in 2016 to motivate me to change that.

Enter the Rock My TBR Challenge hosted by Sarah K @ The YA Book Traveler :

The Challenge:

  • To read a minimum of 1 book per month you already own (published book). This challenge is totally what YOU make of it! You can do 5 books a month, 10, WHATEVER! Anything you accomplish is fantastic. This challenge is really what you make of it.

SO, what I decided to make of this challenge was to read one book a month that I and others would consider one of the classics.  I quite literally have an entire book case dedicated to these babies and I’ve read precious few of them.  My Rock My TBR books for 2016 are:

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

FullSizeRender(4)

I was assigned this book in high school, but didn’t actually read it (sorry Mrs. Misey!) Now that I’m theoretically an adult, I’m going to give it another shot.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

FullSizeRender

I’m sure I read this as a kid at some point, but I don’t remember a lick of it, so it doesn’t count. Right?

The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

FullSizeRender(10)

I really enjoy reading about Ernest Hemingway.  I find him and his life absolutely fascinating….but (confession time) I haven’t actually read anything he’s written.  I know, I suck.  I’m fixing it, I swear!

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

FullSizeRender(8)

I have a ridiculous number of copies of this book, for one.  And for two, I am ridiculously obsessed with Pride and Prejudice and have an obscene amount of Austen fan-fiction.  So, I think it’s time that I read more of her work.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

FullSizeRender(9)

The explanation is easy for this one… I’ve seen the movie a dozen or so times, love it, and I want to be a flapper.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

FullSizeRender(2)

I recently read The Bronte Plot by Katherine Reay and I felt like I was sorely missing out on a large part of the story because I’ve actually not read anything by any of the Bronte sisters…ergo, Jane Eyre.

Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

FullSizeRender(7)

This may not be a book that immediately comes to mind when somebody thinks “classic” but it’s been on my shelf for ages and I read the kiddo version when I was in elementary school.  And let’s be honest, I love “A Modest Proposal”….it’s just as snarky as I am:-)

Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

IMG_2040

I have all of Virginia Woolf’s books and haven’t read a single one.  So, how did I decide which one to put on my TBR? I googled “Which is the best Virginia Woolf novel?”  This is what google told me to read.

The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

FullSizeRender(6)

I know, it’s a sin, but I haven’t read any Steinbeck.  I figured I’d start with the one I’d heard the most about (Of Mice and Men was a close runner up)

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

FullSizeRender(3)

Oi! I’m such a terrible book nerd! I have this ENTIRE SERIES and haven’t read Little Women! My favorite show EVER is Dawson’s Creek and the main character is named after a character in this book! *Slaps own wrist*

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

FullSizeRender(1)

Oh my goodness, the sheer size of this book is intimidating.  And I’ve heard that this is a tough read and a bit on the obscure side.  This is one of those “In my dreams” books that’s been on my list since Rory read it on Gilmore Girls.  Honestly, I’m terrified of it.  But, I’m willing to try!

Emma by Jane Austen

FullSizeRender(5)

Annddd… rounding out my “classics” TBR, another Jane Austen novel… because Jane Austen.

 

So, that’s my Rock My TBR.  I’m considering adding Wuthering Heights as a bonus book (or to read instead of Anna Karenina if I chicken out), but we’ll see what the year brings!

What’s on your 2016 TBR?

4 thoughts on “Rock My TBR Challenge 2016: The Classics

  1. Sarah K - The YA Book Traveler says:

    I LOVE how you made this challenge into a reading Classics TBR! Such a great idea! I’ve read a couple of these back in High School before I really fell in love with reading. So, I’d like to give them another shot. And many of these I still need to read. Happy reading!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

