Guest of the Month: Maggie from The Novel Orange!

Hey everybody!  So, this month I’ve been participating in a really cool project spearheaded by the wonderful Emily at Emily Reads Everything called the Guest of the Month Club!

Essentially, GOMC partners up two bloggers to write a guest post for each other’s site about a given topic.  This month’s topic was “Beyond the Blog” and my partner was Maggie at The Novel Orange.  It was so awesome participating in this project and getting to know Maggie this month.  I hope you enjoy getting to know her as much as I did!  Without further ado, here is Maggie, beyond the blog:

Maggie

Hey, y’all! I’m Maggie from The Novel Orange!

Honestly, when I first sat down to write this post, about my spare time shenanigans, I went blank. I mean what do I actually do?

I got to thinking that I don’t really do anything special or spectacular.

Then, I had palm to face slap moment when it dawned on me that I’m a mother! I’m part of the club of lucky mommies, teaching and helping shape the mind of my little one:-)

I am a mommy, first and foremost, so it’s a given that I’m playing with and taking care of my baby boy every day.

You know how people say they don’t remember what they did before having children? Well, it’s true! I can’t imagine life without my baby!

baby-boy-text-clipart

In addition to my human baby, I have three dogs and a cat, who are definitely babies in their own rights!

Walter, my protector, is a mystery mix of a handsome mutt and is seriously 14 years old! He is my big baby.

Then, I have Harry, a Yorkie, and he is very silly and so sweet. He’s my little buddy and near-constant companion.

Althea, named for a Grateful Dead song, is our black and tan puppy. She’s about 13 weeks old and has already grown so much. I tell my husband she’s higher maintenance than our baby!

keep-calm-and-be-a-cool-cat-3

Last is Kit Kat the cat, quite obviously. He is hands down one of the coolest cats I’ve ever met. I found him outside my parents’ house when I mistook him for one of my mom’s cats. All I can say is, he’s amazing.

 

 

Besides hanging out with and taking care of my sweet baby and animal babies, I have my husband, who works quite a bit.

It’s a bit of a struggle to get to spend alone time with my husband, but we make it work the best we can!

1884680-jpg

In addition to being a mommy, I have a master’s degree in social work.

I’ve been working over the past few years to regain my license to practice in my state, as I let it lapse when I did not obtain enough continuing education credits to renew it a couple of years ago.

I’ve been lucky to be a stay at home mom since I became pregnant in 2014.

I’ve had a variety of jobs in my field of social work, from an intern at a psychiatric hospital to a foster care caseworker for children in the custody of my state’s children’s services department.

While I am not working in my field at the time being, I am so grateful to have gotten my degrees and to have them waiting for me in the wings when it’s time to go back to work.

Besides being a mom and wife and all those good things, I really enjoy writing and simply being creative in general.

I journal quite a bit. Rarely do I look back over my old journals, but it’s such a release to get my thoughts out on paper and out of my head.

That’s my non-blogging life in a tiny nutshell!

HsmmLIw

Thanks so much for having me, Trisha!:-)

One thought on “Guest of the Month: Maggie from The Novel Orange!

Leave a Reply

