Review: Opal (Lux #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

If you haven’t read the first two books, STOP NOW unless you like knowing what’s going to happen before you read:-)

Now that that’s out of the way, Opal picks up right where Onyx left off.  As we know, Dawson has been freed from the DOD and is on a mission, regardless of harm to life and limb, to find and rescue Beth, the love of his life.  In order to convince him to stop acting irrationally, Katy promises Dawson that she and Daemon will help him rescue Beth.

Just when Katy has given up hope on where to start in the Beth hunt, in walks Blake.  Yeah… that Blake; douche-bag of the century and murderer extraordinaire.  Blake comes with a heavy load of blackmail thinly disguised as a proposition.  His deal?  He will help Dawson and clan rescue Beth if, in turn, they help him rescue Chris: his childhood friend who healed him and in doing so, turned him into the mutated half-human he has become.

5 Stars

Ho-boy… where to start with this one?  Well, clearly, I loved it.   It’s official; I am a squealing, swooning, and shriekingly obsessed fan of JLA!  The overall theme of this book was much darker than the first two. clouds There’s a sort of shadow-casting cloud hanging over the series as a whole, but this one is the big, black, thunderstorm kind, and that’s kinda what I love about it.  It’s still sweet and swoony, but there’s a definite undertone of “shit’s about to get real”.

Part of this is because Jennifer L. Armentrout does an incredible job keeping readers engaged with the world she is creating through the Lux series.  As with the previous novels, she introduces several new concepts, characters, and even types of characters in Opal.  The more details we are introduced to, the more I feel the need to know.  While often times, new concept introductions lead to more questions than answers, this is a large part of what makes this series so addicting.

I feel like this series definitely grew with its intended reading audience.  As the books were released, the audience was getting older, and able to handle more deep content, and JLA did a fabulous job keeping up with that.  This progression is most obvious in Katy and Daemon; both in their individual growth and how they relate to one another.  Daemon has gone from being the “screw-you” douche bag to someone who is much more in tune with and willing to express his emotions.  He’s still cocky and egotistical, but now it’s in a way that makes you want to kiss him, rather than kill him.

Feels_gif

Katy has made some major changes as well as the series has progressed.  When we first met Katy, she was this sweet, little, nerdy book blogger who was totally lovable but tended to cry in the face of opposition.  Now, she’s totally different.  She’s strong, independent, and will do absolutely anything to defend the ones she loves.  Her relationship with Daemon throughout this novel truly begins to solidify as they both grow into themselves.  Both Katy and Daemon, by the end of the novel, are so strong both independently and as a couple, that it’s a reasonable leap to presume that nothing and nobody could tear them apart.

cliff

Until (yes, because there’s always an until) the very end, when something unimaginable threatens the very core of everything I’ve grown to know and love about this series.  Opal had one of the biggest W.T.F!! moments I’ve ever read.  I mean, seriously, I feel like I need a helmet and a carabiner clip to properly navigate the cliffhanger JLA left us with.  I pressed the “next” button on my Kindle so many times when I reached the last page, I think there’s a permanent mark where I disturbed the e-ink.

I do have to take a couple of days off from the series to read a book for a tour, but I will be biting my nails to the quick every second.  Luckily, I have Origin waiting more patiently for me than I for it as soon as I can pick the series up again.

Leave a Reply

