Letters to: Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Ever since their epic battle against the Arum, Katy and Daemon seem to be somehow connected on a cosmic level.  This creates all manner of issues, the primary being that Katy can’t figure out whether Daemon’s sudden “feelings” for her are real supernaturally influenced.  So, when a new boy comes to their school and shows interest in Katy, she jumps at the chance for a normal human relationship.  Obviously, Daemon’s not happy.  He’s throwing suspicion and jealousy around like ninja throwing stars that Katy can’t seem to dodge no matter how hard she tries.

But, when Katy begins doing things with her mind, shit hits the fan. Something worse than the DOD comes to town and threatens Katy and her paranormal friends and  Katy learns an important lesson: nothing is ever what it seems, and people are rarely who (or what) they say they are.

5 Stars

Okay, so, in case you haven’t noticed, I’m on a roll with the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and you’re going to be seeing a lot about it until the release of Oblivion on Dec 1.

Rather than writing a “normal” review for each book as I read them (which would pretty much result in a lot of “SQUEE OMG”), I’m going to be doing something a little different for each one.  This is in an effort to:

a) Challenge myself

and

b) Not bore the heck out of you

Without further ado, I’ve written a letter to each of the major characters in Onyx, book #2 in this fantastic series:

Dear Katy,

For God’s sake! I love you, but give the boy a freakin’ break!  I get that he was a douche canoe when you first met, but can’t you just accept that he’s making a genuine effort to fix it?  Also, I get that you’re a little freaked out and wary over the whole supernatural cosmic connection thing.  Who wouldn’t be? But, again, give him a chance!  You’re never going to know whether the attraction between you is real if you don’t stop overthinking.  I don’t know if you’re insecure, paranoid, or what, but this whole brushing Daemon off and dating other boys thing is SO.NOT.COOL.  So please, for the love of all things holy, drop that boy and jump back into the oh-so-sexy arms of that hot piece of man meat before he comes to his senses and drops you for being such an unholy b*tch (I still love you though, I promise)

PS: Stop hiding things from Daemon.  It’s really not doing anyone any good.

x9SMaEd

Dear Blake,

I don’t like you.  I don’t trust you.  I can’t really put my finger on why, but I’m pretty sure you’re a bigger (and scarier) douche than Daemon is.  Please leave Katy and Daemon alone and let nature (and hormones) take its course for your sake, theirs, and the sake of everyone reading their story.  Because face it, anything that happens between you and Katy won’t be nearly as steamy or fun to read as what happens between her and Daemon.  You’re just really not that cool.

Dear Daemon,

Just so you know, if she won’t take you, I will! Although I’m pretty sure I’m not anywhere near the front of the line on that one!  Seriously, the more I read about you, the more I swoon.  Anyway, please be patient.  Understand that she’s terrified, overwhelmed, and just overall confused.  I love your devotion to Katy and believe with every fiber of my being that under that rough and scaly exterior, you’re kindof a marshmallow.  Keep being your smartass, smug, sweet self and she’ll come around….eventually.

ToMyLove

Dear Dee,

Where the eff are you? I miss you’re bubbly charm and the overall levity you bring to Katy’s life.  Please come back.  XOXOXO


Jennifer Armentrout has truly outdone herself with Onyx. Just like its predecessor, this novel floored me with an incredible amount of steam, action and heart.  Oftentimes, the second novel in a series fails to live up to the hype of the first.  Onyx is a definite exception to this rule.  It hits hard, fast, and just like Obsidian, it leaves you begging for more.

3 thoughts on “Letters to: Onyx (Lux #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. hermionefowl says:

    This is such a good idea! Definitely one of my favourite reviews I’ve read 🙂 And helpful! I hated Obsidian, because Daemon was awful. But I’ve heard it gets a lot better, and this review agreed with that. So maybe I should try it out..?

    Like

Leave a Reply

