Sunday Wrap-Up: November 15, 2015

Welcome to my weekly Sunday Wrap-Up.  Here you’ll find what I’ve been up to this week: An overview of my posts, My weekly book haul, and my favorite post on another blog that I’ve read this week.  Enjoy 🙂

A Moment For Reflection:

I just wanted to take a minute to talk about the horrific events that occurred this weekend.  As I sit in a hospice room surrounded by my family, I find myself reflecting on how blessed I am to have the opportunity to say good-bye to my loved one.Eiffel-Tower-Peace-Symbol

Like everyone else in the world, I’m deeply saddened, hurt, and outraged by the events that took place in Paris on Friday.  I mourn greatly for the dead, but I also mourn for the living; not only for those who survived the attack, but also for those who lost loved ones and were not afforded the opportunity to say good-bye.  The victims of the attack who lost their lives this weekend are finally at peace, but those who survived and those left behind likely never will be.  Therein lies the true tragedy, and my heart breaks for them.

Weekly Happenings:

hohohorat_2015_zpsaoktcctyThis week I’ve been participating in the Ho-Ho-Ho Read-A-Thon hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer and Book Shelfery.  It’s helped some to pull me out of my pre-holiday doldrums, and I’m having a lot of fun with it!

Also (in case you haven’t noticed), Yellow, Green, and Read All Over has had a MAJOR facelift!  I re-categorized all of my posts, made a comprehensive list page of all my reviews, created a brand-new header, and changed my theme.  It’s refreshing to have a new look, and I feel like it’s brighter, happier, and all together more inviting than it was before:-)

Posts from this Week:

As you can imagine, because of family stuff, I haven’t gotten to post as much as I would have liked to this week.  But, I did post some fun stuff, so here’s what you might have missed:

Delicate PiecesNovember 10: Review: Release Blitz: Of Delicate Pieces by A. Lynden Rolland

I fell in love with this series the minute I read the first page of Of Breakable Things, and fell in love with it again when I had the opportunity to participate in the review tour for Of Delicate Pieces.  So, obviously, I was beyond thrilled to have the opportunity to promote it for the Release Blitz!

November 10: Release Excerpt: Nirvana by J.R. Stewartnirvana

This book got a lot of flack because apparently the first version that was released on NetGalley was something a lot of reviewers would have rather not read.  BUT, I read it when the revised version was released and I absolutely loved it!  So, when the publisher offered the opportunity to share an excerpt to celebrate Nirvana’s release, I jumped at the chance!

25430575November 11: Review: All of Us and Everything by Bridget Asher

Since I started blogging, I’ve noticed a major shift in my reading habits and what I enjoy.  I’m not sure why that is.  But, while I did enjoy reading All of Us and Everything, overall, I was unimpressed and largely unsatisfied.  I’ve noticed that this has been the case in the Adult fiction I’ve been reading lately.  I’m not sure if it’s the books I’m choosing, or that blogging has changed me, but regardless, it makes me a little sad.

November 12: Ho-Ho-Ho Read-A-Thon 2015 Goalshohohorat_2015_zpsaoktccty

As I said earlier, I’ve been participating this week in the 2015 Ho-Ho-Ho Read-A-Thon.  I posted in my goals that I was going to read two Christmas-themed books and complete as many challenges as I could.  So far, I’ve read Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares and I’ve done all the challenges!

26213915November 14: Review: Dead Ringer by Jessie Rosen

Gone Girl goes to High School.. Enough said… Read it now!

This Week’s Book Haul:

Books-1-icon
On Saturdays when I’m not at a book sale, I get up early and get in line for the Baltimore Book Thing.  Normally I’d have pictures of my giant pile of books here, but given my current setting, that’s not entirely possible.  I don’t have them with me to dig out and parcel out my favorites from the week, but have no fear, there will still be a book haul here!

Instead of doing my usual book haul this week, I figured I’d do something a little different.  In preparing for tomorrow’s Shelfie Hop, I spent some time in my library cleaning and reorganizing this morning.  Since I’m in the middle of a Christmas-themed read-a-thon, I thought it might be fun to share some holiday reads that I found nestled in my shelves:

    • Holidays on Ice- David Sedaris: I love me some David Sedaris.  He’s rude, crude, and irreverent, just like me!  Originally, I had planned to read A Darcy Christmas for HHHRAT, but I may just switch to this one simply for the sardonic humor I’m likely to find there.
    • Knit the Season- Kate Jacobs: A companion to The Friday Night Knitting Club, this book is likely to be all manner of swoony fluff.  I may give this one a go as a bonus book for HHHRAT, just for the simple fact that not thinking for a while might be nice!
    • A Darcy Christmas- Sharon Lathan, et al: This was one of the original two books on my HHHRAT to-read list.  It was there for two reasons: 1- I knew I had it (somewhere), and 2- I just love love love Jane Austen and Pride & Prejudice:-)

IMG_1873

Book Mail This Week:79224f95-b691-41fe-8581-98bf18b13a05_30461_CUSTOM

No book mail this week….but I did receive my tickets for Trans-Siberian Orchestra next month, so that’s almost as cool?

Post of The Week:

reading-change-300x300I try to spend at least a few hours a week reading other blog posts and my favorite find this week was “How Does Reading Change You?” by Laura at Boats Against the Current.  BATC was one of the first book blogs I came across when I started blogging, and this girl is just simply amazing, between her hair, her writing style, and her intelligence, I’m definitely a fan. I’ve noticed some pretty major changes not only in my reading style, but in my overall self since I started blogging and devoting more time to reading, and Laura really put into perspective the benefits of reading and truly engaging with literature.  You should definitely go check it out if you haven’t seen it already!

That’s all for this week!

As Always,

Happy Reading

4 thoughts on “Sunday Wrap-Up: November 15, 2015

  1. Laura says:

    I was totally shocked and horrified by the events in Paris this weekend too, and it really is heart-breaking to think about all those people who have lost loved ones so suddenly.
    And thanks so much for mentioning my blog post! I’m glad you liked it, and could relate. Your blog is a pretty recent discovery, so I’m looking forward to checking out some more of your posts (and I’m loving the floral design by the way!) 🙂

    Like

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    Yes, so tragic about all the lives lost in Paris…and for the survivors, too.

    I love the new look of your blog….I also blog on WordPress and enjoy changing things up now and then.

    I enjoyed the Kate Jacobs knitting series and haven’t yet read Knit the Season…so I’ll be watching for your thoughts.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

