Sunday Wrap-Up: November 8, 2015

Welcome to my weekly Sunday Wrap-Up.  Here you’ll find what I’ve been up to this week: An overview of my posts, My weekly book haul, and my favorite post on another blog that I’ve read this week.  Enjoy 🙂

Weekly Happenings:

Blogging USo, this week I started the Blogging 101: Zero to Hero class, and it’s been pretty fun so far!  A lot of the assignments are geared to brand-new bloggers, so I had to tweak them to fit where I am in my blogging journey.  So, I did some edits to my “About” page, changed my header and added some widgets to my side bar, created a new page for my review archives, and tweaked a couple other little things on and around my blog.

A Slice of My Life:

I’m not one of those people that likes to whine about my personal life, especially on my blog, but it’s been a rough week/weekend for me.  My grandmother (and last remaining grandparent) went to the hospital on Friday, and was moved into hospice care yesterday, with little hope of making it more than a couple of days or so.  That being said, I do appreciate all the wonderful comments and whatnot on my other postings this week, I just haven’t been able to muster enough positivity to respond, so I apologize.  I still plan on responding, but it may be a little bit.

Posts from this Week:

Post-wise, I had a really busy and awesome week.  Here’s what you missed!

ConfessionsNovember 2: Confessions of A Potterholic #3 (Guest Post)

If you’ve been paying attention to my blog for any amount of time, you know that I’m more than a little obsessed with Harry Potter.  Apparently, this is a commonality among my friends as well.  This month’s installment of “Confessions of a Potterholic” was actually a guest post by my friend Bryan, host of the SheNERDigans podcast.  He wrote a fan-fic type post about what it would be like if Hogwarts had a PTA.
November 3: Review: Tarnished by Kate Jarvik BirchTarnished

This book is the follow-up to Perfected, a story about a world very similar to our own, except genetically-perfected human girls are kept as pets.  The plot line of this series is super unique and engaging from cover-to-cover.  Suffice to say, I loved it!
Of-Delicate-Pieces-CoverNovember 4: Review Tour: Of Delicate Pieces by A. Lynden Rolland

My first tour!  I had a lot of fun reading this book.  It was a follow up to Of Breakable Things, which has become one of my all-time favorite books!  Another alternate-reality fantasy YA novel, this one also had a really unique plot.  These stories are about the world of ghosts- where you go and what happens after you die.
 
November 5: My Journey with the Giving Tree200px-The_Giving_Tree

The Giving Tree is one of those stories that means something completely different to each and every person who reads it.  I’ve come across this book 3 times throughout my life, and each time, I’ve learned more and taken something different away from it.  I decided to write about my journey with this amazing book in this post.
22590207November 6: Review: Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David D. Hammons

I’m a sucker for fairy-tale retellings, and this one was everything I could have possibly wanted and more!  It was well-imagined, highly creative, and managed the delicate balance of new content and maintaining a fairy-tale like feel with absolute panache and unparalleled mastery.

This Week’s Book Haul:

On Saturdays when I’m not at a book sale, I get up early and get in line for the Baltimore Book Thing.  I can’t say enough about this place.  It’s literally a warehouse full of free books in downtown Baltimore.  You go with a box, bag, whatever, fill it to your heart’s desire, and leave. Despite everything going on with my family, I did still manage to get to the book thing.  I needed some semblance of routine to avoid going nuts.  This week I walked away with 26 books, most of which I’m super excited about!  Here’s a sample from my haul:FullSizeRender(1)

    • Paper Towns: John Green: I don’t think I really need to explain why I picked this one up….or why I did a happy dance when I found it….
    • Dragonfly in Amber- Diana Gabaldon: I picked up the first book in the Outlander Series last month or so.  I doubt I’ll have time to read them any time soon, so I’m perfectly okay with picking them up at a leisurely pace as I come across them used.

And, last but not least, some wonderful soul decided to dump their entire YA ARC collection…. obviously I scooped them up like gang-busters.  I haven’t heard of a lot of the books I grabbed, but I was still grateful for the dump!

FullSizeRender(2)

Book Mail This Week:IMG_1830

This week, I got another book from Blogging for Books, and I’m super excited about it!  I got a hardback copy of The Grownup by Gillian Flynn!

Post of The Week:

11540944_862957507118654_5928007450657662779_nI try to spend at least a few hours a week reading other blog posts and my favorite find this week was “Hogwarts School of Blogcraft and Bookistry: Divination” by Aentee over at Read at Midnight. I’ve actually been following the whole Hogwarts/Blogcraft series over the last few weeks, and the whole concept is just amazing.  They feature a different blog and a different book/book blog related topic each week as part of the BB Creativity Project spearheaded by none other than Nori at ReadWriteLove28.

That’s all for this week!

As Always,

Happy Reading

2 thoughts on “Sunday Wrap-Up: November 8, 2015

  1. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother. Hope you and yours are gonna be OK.

    Thanks so much for linking my post and featuring it, glad you are enjoying the series of posts we made.

    Like

Leave a Reply

