3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge: Day 3

I’m late with this! SORRY!

One last thank you to Amber over at OnlyTrueMagic for tagging me for this challenge:-)  To see her 3 Quotes Challenge and some other cool stuff, hop on over to her page!

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
  3. Nominate three new bloggers each day.

Today’s Quote:

So, I’ve been trying to pull from different genres for each of my quotes.  Day 1 was from a YA series (Harry Potter), Day 2 was from a Children’s book (The Giving Tree), and today is from an adult novel (The Help).  Today’s quote is:

the_help_book_quotesThe Help by Katherine Stockett

I love The Help, both the book and the movie….and that rarely happens.  What’s even more rare is that I feel like the movie has to be seen in order to fully enjoy and understand the book.  And that’s one of the things I kinda dig about it.  This novel uses a lot of regional dialect and colloquialisms that are really hard to translate unless you’ve been primed by hearing them in the movie.  I’ve never met anyone who didn’t love this novel in at least one of it’s mediums and I think it’s one of the few in our era that’s bound to become a bona-fide classic.

So, down to why I chose this quote.  And again, I’m about to get sappy and really personal here, but I think that’s the point of this whole challenge, so here goes.  I have really severe depression and along with that comes very intense panic attacks.  I’ve been having them for over 20 years, and in that time, I’ve developed certain coping mechanisms that while not stopping them, helps me to manage.  One of those mechanisms is repetition of mantras.  If I feel a panic attack coming on, or am having a really intense moment with my depression, I can talk myself down to the point where I can at least function a little bit.  Since 9 times out of 10, I’m driving when I start to panic, this has become invaluable.

One of the mantras I repeat to myself is this line from  The Help.  I know it sounds silly, but for someone with depression, one of the best ways to cope is to combat the internal demons trying to bring you down with building yourself up.  It’s been a great healing tool for me to remind myself that I am “Smart, Important, and Good” when I’m feeling anything but.  So….that’s my story (Don’t judge me, kay?)


To continue the challenge, I nominate:

Of course, if you’ve already done the challenge, or are too busy or uninterested, please feel free to ignore this tag as I secretly make faces at you behind your back (kidding, sorta).

However, if you do decide to participate, please tag me so I can marvel at your wit!

One thought on “3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge: Day 3

  1. Sarah K - The YA Book Traveler says:

    Depression is tough, I’ve been there. I’m so glad that you found something that can help you in those moments to move on. I loved the movie for The Help and I really should read it sometime. I adopted 3 african american children so obviously the storyline hits close to home with me. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

