Sunday Wrap-Up: October 25, 2015

Welcome to my weekly Sunday Wrap-Up.  Here you’ll find what I’ve been up to this week: An overview of my posts, My weekly book haul, and my favorite post on another blog that I’ve read this week.  Enjoy 🙂

Weekly Happenings:

So, this week I continued working on some of my goals from last week, including being better about comments (I think I’ve been good this week?), and trying to figure out Bloglovin’.  I think I understand the concept of Bloglovin’ and have my head wrapped around it.  I simply don’t like it.  I know a lot of people swear by it, which is probably why I thought I was missing something.  BUT, I’m not. Bummer.

Anyway, the most productive thing I accomplished this week was that I pulled up my boot straps like a big girl and actually went out and got a planner! I realized that I signed up for a lot of bloggy stuff in November in an attempt to interact more with the community.  When I went to list everything out, I got overwhelmed and threw a tizzy fit.  So, in an effort to quell the panic attack, I got a planner and scheduled everything out like a full-fledged adult.  Can you tell I’m proud of myself?

IMG_1764 IMG_1763

Posts from this Week:

I did a lot this week and wrote some cool stuff about it, so here’s what you missed!

Things I Cant ExplainOctober 19: Review: Things I Can’t Explain (A Clarissa Novel)

Yup! You read that right!  The creator of Clarissa Explains it All brought her back to us 15 years later in a novel! I waited for over a month to get approved for the ARC of this little gem and did a legitimate happy dance, dropped everything, and squealed with glee as soon as I got to read it.

October 20: Top Ten Tuesday: Wishes From the Book Genietop-ten-tuesday

I hadn’t done a TTT yet, but this one was just too fun to pass up.  If you could have 10 wishes granted by the book genie, what would they be?  I had a lot of fun with this one:)

Of Breakable ThingsOctober 21: Review: Of Breakable Things by A. Lynden Rolland

Sweet Lord.  As though this cover wasn’t beautiful enough, the novel itself was even more so.  I’ve read a lot of really amazing books this year, but this is just heads, tales, glitters and unicorns above all of them!  I read it in preparation for an upcoming blog tour, and it was just absolutely gorgeous in every conceivable way.

October 22: Halloween Blog Hop: If Candies Were BooksHalloween

This week, I took part in a Halloween-themed scavenger hunt as part of the Halloween Horror Party.  I don’t generally read horror books (because I like to sleep at night), but still wanted to do a post that was Halloween themed.  I had a lot of fun with this, and probably left a lot of people scratching their heads and cursing my name…..

bronteOctober 24: Review: The Bronte Plot by Katherine Reay

I wasn’t really sure what to make of this novel, but at the end of the day, I really liked it!  It was a heart-warming read with a really important message.  It’s also got some great quotables in it that would appeal to any book lover!

This Week’s Book Haul:

IMG_1752
On Saturdays when I’m not at a book sale, I get up early and get in line for the Baltimore Book Thing.  I can’t say enough about this place.  It’s literally a warehouse full of free books in downtown Baltimore.  You go with a box, bag, whatever, fill it to your heart’s desire, and leave.  I usually end up with 30-50 books, and I don’t have the patience to list them all here, so I’m just going to highlight some of my favorite acquisitions this week:-)

    • If You Could See Me Now- Cecelia Ahern: Ahhh Cecelia Ahern, of the PS I Love You Fame… I’m OBSESSED with her books, and they’re extremely difficult to find in the used book market, so when I saw this (water damage and all) I grabbed it and hugged it like a favorite teddy bear.
    • Th1rteen R3asons Why- Jay Asher: I’ve seen this book everywhere, and each time I read the description, I’m more and more intrigued.  I don’t think it’s my usual schtick, but I’m going to have to give it a try one of these days because the curiosity is killing me.
    • Rebel Angels- Libba Bray: I actually got A Great and Terrible Beauty a couple weeks ago, and the seasonal timing of this book fits perfectly into a reading challenge I’m doing in November, so I’m excited both that I found the book, and that I have an excuse to move this series up a few notches on my TBR list:)
    • Pathfinder- Orson Scott Card: I’ve heard of Orson Scott Card, but never read his work…. the cover of this book was beautiful and the story seemed intriguing, so, if I ever get around to it, it seems like a good place to start!
  • Austentatious- Alyssa Goodnight: I’m obsessed with all things Austen, so this was a no-brainer for me.  On a slightly-neurotic sidenote: this was actually one of four Austen-centric finds that I picked up this week….
Pardon Sassy.... She loves books as much as I do, and I didn't have the heart to move her...

Pardon Sassy…. She loves books as much as I do, and I didn’t have the heart to move her…

empty-mailbox-150Book Mail This Week:

No book mail this week 😦 Guess I’m not cool enough (kidding!)

Post of The Week:

Header-17-inches-CompressedI try to spend at least a few hours a week reading other blog posts and my favorite find this week was “Your Blogging Style- Can You Change it? Should You Even Try?” over at Feed Your Fiction Addiction.  I totally agree with Nicole in that I too suffer from blogger envy.  The problem with being part of a community filled with a bunch of readers is that everyone is REALLY SMART and it shows in their writing and in their blog design. I think we all have issues with “I wish I could write like that” or “Damn, that was a good idea!” or “Ugh.  Her graphics are soooo much better than mine.”   That being said, FYFA is one of my favorite blogs to peruse, and this post gave me the warm “you’re not alone” fuzzies, so please check it out!

That’s all for this week!

As Always,

Happy Reading

3 thoughts on “Sunday Wrap-Up: October 25, 2015

Leave a Reply

