Top Ten Tuesday: Wishes from the Book Genie

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s category is Top Ten Wishes I’d Ask the Book Genie to Grant.

I usually don’t do Top Ten Tuesday, but this week’s topic was just too amazing to resist!  If I could ask the Book Genie for Ten Bookish things, they would be:

1. Shelve my books for me!  Please! I have HUNDREDS of books lying about in random piles withering away while they wait to be shelved.  The problem is, all of my books are shelved alphabetically, so a fair bit of shuffling has to be done to correctly place even one book!

shutterstock_112499642
2. The ability to literally inhabit the worlds of my books. I know, I know….”Of course it’s all in your head…But that doesn’t mean it’s not real”, but, I use reading as a true escape from my everyday life.  I’d love to be able to escape into a good book literally so I can’t be disturbed or disrupted and forced to come back against my will.
 

3. My Hogwarts acceptance letter, complete with an owl of my very own!

01 Harry Potter Movie Filme Film Imagem Movimento Motion picture GIF Hogwarts Pedra Filosofal Sorcerers Stone J K Rowling Daniel Radcliffe
4. Some kind of Match.com for books…. Avid readers would fill out a survey, and some kind of magic algorithmic mechanism would pick a book for them each month that they are guaranteed to love forever.

5. THIS Chair. Enough Said.

librarychair500x381

6. To bring pieces of my book worlds with me… not necessarily people, because if they didn’t stay in bookland, there’d be nothing to write about. I’m talking more like…momentos. People tend to collect souvenirs on vacation, so why not collect souvenirs from books?

7. Age of Adeline— This movie was SPECTACULAR.  It needs to be a book…. like, now.

The-Age-of-Adaline-2015-Poster-Wallpaper

8. Make my book room like Mary Poppins’ purse.  While I greatly appreciate the fact that I even have the luxury of my very own library in my house, I can never seem to find enough room for my ever-growing collection of books.  Therefore, I would like my library to mimic Mary Poppins’ purse in that it appears small, but as you go deeper and deeper, it expands into infinite amounts of space!

tumblr_m2tctsslpE1qag17lo1_500
9. For reading to be able to sustain my life as I know it… Food? Nah. Water? Nah. Job? Nah. Just read, and you’ll be good to go!

10. Randomly placed “Book Nooks”.  I had this idea a while ago when book shopping with a friend.  It would be great if there was a place, outside one’s home, where they could just go and read in peace and comfort.  Yes, there are Starbucks and Panera Bread and of course libraries, but each of these has its downfall, the primary being noise.  My ideal “book nook” would be a large room, filled with bean bag chairs and other kinds of uber comfy furniture, where somebody could just sit/lay and read.  They’d be undisturbed by the outside world and not expected to provide patronage in any way other than their presence.

book nook

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Wishes from the Book Genie

  1. Caitlin Stern says:

    We do need some kind of magic spells for book shelving. I usually stick books on top of/in front of others until I get sick of the mess, and then painstakingly shuffle them around until they’re all in the proper place.

    This is why, if I had all the bookshelves I wanted, I’d leave empty space on each shelf. Room to grow! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

