If You Write It, They Will Read

I’m not one to normally dispense blogging advice.  I haven’t been doing this very long and I’m hardly an expert at much of anything.  Who am I, as one who is in my very infancy of blogging, to give advice to other bloggers; many of whom are far more seasoned, have more followers, and are just plain better at it than I am?

Anyway, in beginning this venture, I did a lot of research.  Before I ever put hand to keyboard, I read all the advisory posts that I’m sure most newbies read before starting a book blog (Nose Graze being the one at the forefront). These posts ranged in blogging how-to articles from engaging in social media, to utilizing SEO (which I still don’t understand), to how to gain readers and followers.  The primary bit of advice in the latter category was to blog often and meaningfully.

The ARC, or advanced reader’s copy, is the coveted holy grail of literary items for most book bloggers.  It’s that nugget of gold at the end of the rainbow; and lucky for us, there’s a lot of rainbows to follow.  Whether you choose to use NetGalley, or email publishers or join blog tours, most of these avenues, among other things, require that you post updates to your blog daily or at least several times a week.  This is one sticking point that almost deterred me from blogging.  How is somebody with a full-time job and a life supposed to post something EVERY DAY, much less make it meaningful?

So, I chose not to.  I posted when I felt like it.  I only posted when I finished a book and wanted to write a review, or if I had something to say that I felt was awesome and worth writing.  After all, I started my blog for me.  I wanted an outlet to post my thoughts, vent occasionally, and connect with like-minded people.  How I went about it was entirely up to me.  I can honestly say that this approach has served me well over the past couple of months.  Obviously, I noticed I had more visitors and views on days that I posted something, but my stats on my “off” days weren’t entirely horrendous (most of the time).BlogStats

But, last week, at first unintentionally and then on purpose, I conducted a bit of an experiment with my blog.  I posted something (most of which I found meaningful) every day for seven days.  In that time period, I posted 4 reviews, a blog hop, and two posts that most would consider a rant.  Despite what I’d read and witnessed in the ebb and flow of my own stats, I was surprised by the results.  In the two weeks prior to last, I had posted 4 posts per week.  I had 79 and 77 views respectively with 37 and 33 total visitors.  During my experimentation week, I had 183 views and 101 total visitors. That is a 134% increase in views and a 189% increase in visitors!  Mind. Blown.

So, I guess I’ve learned my lesson about shirking other people’s advice.  While it is important to discover your own voice and to be true to yourself in the world of blogging, it’s also important to recognize that if you want to be successful, it is prudent to follow the advice of those who already are.  I still don’t think I’ll be able to post every day.  I’m a bit wary that my writing will become stale, or that I will fall into the dreaded “bloggers slump”.  However, I am going to try to post more often, more meaningfully, and on some semblance of a reliable schedule.  It’s going to take some time to adjust and I think the calendar on my phone may become my best friend.

In case you’re interested, here are the posts from my experimentation week:

Review: Anna and the French Kiss

My Blog is NOT a Hobby! (Rant)

Cinderella's Dress: A Series in Review

So... Let's Talk About Twilight

Review: Twain's End by Lynn Cullen

FF_2013Button
Mini-Review: Somewhere In Between by Katie Li

So, fellow bloggers, do you blog every day? Or do you have a set schedule for when you post? And, on a side note, I also noticed that on weekends, both my views and visitors dropped. Does this happen to everyone? Is there some sort of logic to it?

8 thoughts on “If You Write It, They Will Read

  1. The Country Bookworm says:

    I found that my views go up on days that I participate in a meme. For example, top ten tuesday. They have the topics posted for the rest of the year, so I write them ahead of time, and on the day of, just go link to it on their blog.

    Like

  2. Ann@BooksontheTable says:

    The bigger question here is: what constitutes success for your blog? I don’t really care how many page views I have. I know that if I post more often, I’ll get more page views. But I’m more interested in developing a relationship with my email followers. I post about six times per month, and each post is thoughtful and relatively lengthy. My favorite blogs do not post very often — I like to get them via email, and I would get very annoyed to get daily emails from them. There’s absolutely no way any serious book blogger who does anything besides work on a blog can put out quality posts every day. Sure, you can always send out short pieces of “content” but I’m not interested in that. That can go on the blog’s Facebook page or Instagram account.

    Like

  3. Ann@BooksontheTable says:

    And one more thing — don’t worry about your stats. Yes, my page views and visitors drop on weekends. I guess people don’t look at blogs as much on weekends. Just worry about writing the best posts you can about things that interest you. If I were concerned about my stats, I’d write a list post every time because those posts get quadruple the views of book reviews. But I just write a list post when I feel like it — they’re fun to write. I don’t care that not as many people read my book reviews — I like reading and writing book reviews, so I continue to post them. They make me think more critically and read more closely. Also, remember you don’t work for the publishers. You’re doing them a favor. Don’t stress out over “deadlines”. It really isn’t a job.

    Like

    • Trisha says:

      I agree with you. There is absolutely no way for a single blogger to post something meaningful every day on any kind of long-term basis. I suppose it’s possible for those that share their blog with other bloggers, but that’s a different story altogether. I think success is measured differently among all bloggers, each having a different requirement for their own personal success. I also think it differs depending on how long you’ve been at it. For me, just starting out, my success isn’t solely based upon visitors/views, but it does play a large part in it. The ultimate goals aside, one cannot have a good relationship with their readers, much less the blogging community as a whole if their blog isn’t getting read. My short-term goal as a new blogger is to write meaningful comment that I enjoy writing and that other people will enjoy reading and to get that content out there to as many readers as I can. As far as publishers, I try really hard not to treat it like a job, but if I tick them off, they won’t send me their books and I’ll have much less to blog about:-)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. chocolatepages says:

    What an interesting post and comments. Strangely enough, I only post my posts at weekends. So my Stats are usually higher at the weekend. I would love for my blog to be bigger and fuller and to be able to spend more time and post more posts, but its just not possible. I guess the way I look at it, is I really enjoy the time I spend on it now. So I don’t have an amazing number of followers or stats, but I do get books to read and review and somewhere to put my thoughts and for people to comment. I know also that I would get more readers if I posted more often, but its not a job so I enjoy it for what it is for me, a hobby.
    Amanda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

