Happy Blog Day to Me!

So, today is my 27th birthday, and it just so happens that my blog is 1 month old this week!  It’s been a heck of a month, with a lot of ups, downs, and a bit of “why the heck am I doing this?”

Why I started Blogging:tumblr_muexrhjWJN1s3r3fxo8_1280

I’ve always been a voracious reader, and really enjoyed writing, but rarely had an outlet to do so.  Blogging allows me not only to have an excuse to write, but it allows me to interact with my books for a bit longer than I would usually have the opportunity to do.  By doing book reviews and blogging, I get to prolong my stay in the worlds of my books and put off the feeling of loss just a little bit longer.

Also,  I constantly have people coming to me for book recommendations and the like.  So, rather than pointing them to my Goodreads page, which can be overwhelming to a newcomer, I can simply point them toward my blog, where everything is readily available for their perusal.

What I’ve Learned Over the Last Month:

How to Write Better:

Ask anybody, I’m a grammar nut.  I know the correct placement of “who” and “whom” and “well” and “good.”  I’m fastidious about not only my own grammar, but that of those around me.  However, being adept at grammar does not a good writer make.  I’ve always enjoyed writing and always did really well with it….in college.  Therein lies the problem.  I haven’t written anything more significant than an email since college, which was longer ago than I’d care to admit.  So, when I started this blog, I had to re-teach myself how to write.  Not only that, but I had to teach myself how to write conversationally and not like I was writing an essay or research paper.  That was unbelievably difficult for me.  I like big words.  A LOT.  I’m still working on making my posts flow into a more readable syntax, but I think I’ve improved by leaps and bounds.  I don’t think I’ll ever give up my robust vocabulary, but I’m hoping that over time, my readers will get to know the real me, rather than the straight-backed, nose-in-the air snob that my writing often makes me out to be.

Blog Stalking Isn’t “Stalking”

546563_343111219070600_323353456_nWhen I first started on this, I found myself in the dredges of the often lamented “Why isn’t anyone reading my stuuuffff???”  In doing more research and snooping on some other blogs, I realized that becoming a book blogger is really about ingratiating yourself to a community.  I love comments, likes, follows and such.  Guess what?! Other bloggers do too!  So, I’ve learned to comment on other blogs, let my compatriots know I am reading their material, and I’m even learning Twitter (gasp!)  I’ve had a personal Twitter for ages, with a whopping 6 followers and a total of 8 posts.  Ever.  When I started blogging, I quickly came to realize that Twitter is a necessary evil and I’ve actually gotten to the point where I almost (ok, I do) enjoy it!  I’m no expert yet, but I’m figuring it out.

E-Readers Aren’t the Root of All Evil

At least…. not in the world of book blogging.  I’ve spent many years rallying behind the belief that e-readers are a special form of sacrilege and threaten the very literary air I breathe.  If you read one of my first posts, “Obsoletion Vs. Sentimentality,” I more or less put that view out there for the general masses. However, one of the perks of being a book blogger is getting to read all those wonderful books before they’re released to the general public.  Especially when starting out, the vast majority of these come in the dreaded digital format. Soooo, I’ve come to appreciate the evil Kindle, and even got a fancy new one.  I have to admit, I don’t exactly hate it.

What I’d Like to Work On

A month in, I still have a lot to learn, a lot to work on, and a lot to perfect.  I kindof relish the fact that I will never stop learning and growing with and through my blog.  Here are some things I’d like to work on in the near future:

  • Continuing to improve my writing- This is something I will always be striving for and will never perfect.  I know that, and I’m okay with it!
  • Learning all the jargon- I still have no IDEA what an SEO is….
  • Time Management – This is a big one for me.  I’m having a really rough time balancing reading time, blogging time, and having a life.  I have almost 200 books in my library waiting to be shelved because I’d rather be blogging!
  • Consistency – My posts are a bit all over the place, both in time and topic.  I would like to develop a somewhat consistent, although not rigid, schedule of when I’ll post reviews, discussion topics, etc, and overall how frequently I’ll post.  There are times that I’ll post 3 things in as many days, and then other times when I don’t post for a week or more.  I’m starting to get on my own nerves!

Stats:

I don’t know what’s considered “normal” or “average” in the world of book blogging, but in looking at my stats for the last month, I was absolutely blown away! So, thank you to those who, for whatever reason, find interest in my random musings!  Here are my stats from when I started Yellow, Green, and Read All Over to now:

Views/Likes/Comments:

Views 9-15-15

Visitors:

Believe it or not, I’ve had views from 20 different countries!  This is totally crazy to me!

And, as of this morning I have 36 followers on WordPress, 33 on Facebook, and 26 on Twitter! So again, THANK YOU!

3470671-random-adventure-time-gifs-adventure-time-with-finn-and-jake-32628272-500-281

I’m really enjoying this blogging thing, and can’t to see what comes next!

4 thoughts on “Happy Blog Day to Me!

  1. Almondine says:

    A belated congrats! Plus an extra high-five at the one-month thing; I believe mine is going to be tomorrow, though my statistics are a lot more crappy than yours :D. Then again, your blog looks amazing! You had me fooled in thinking you were working on this for years instead of only one month. Cheers!

    Like

  2. emilyreadseverything says:

    You are doing great! I don’t get a lot of it either. I’m still working on fitting it too. Its nice to hear that I’m not the only one having these issues. SEO is Search Engine Optimization. Basically, its a way to use keywords so google will find your posts and rank them higher.

    Like

Leave a Reply

