Hello World!

This is my first blog post… ever… so bear with me.  As you’ll find out, my literary taste is somewhat eclectic.  I read a few books a week and like to jump between genres. I’ve been setting up this blog for the last few days, so regrettably, I haven’t had time to read.   Here are the books I’ve read recently, however I won’t write a full review on them because they’re not fresh enough in my mind to give them their due diligence.

 

be250a_fff7449608ac473bb05a742c8a3325c0.jpg_srb_p_202_312_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srbMy mother actually recommended this book to me, and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved it.  Her reading tastes tend to be a bit more “fluffy” than mine, so I generally don’t take much stock in her literary advice.

 This book had a unique plot that captured my interest immediately.  It takes a few chapters before you really grasp what’s going on, but once I got there, I couldn’t put it down.  I found myself getting caught up with the characters in such a way that I began to get anxious when thinking about how the story was going to end.

 The story ended beautifully.  It wasn’t rushed, or half-baked as many novels in this genre tend to be; it left the reader with a happy and satisfied feeling when the final page was turned.

 

be250a_9208b47215d448c5a21d6b90b84fbc87.jpg_srb_p_205_308_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srbAhhh! I can’t even begin to tell you how much I loved this book!  The plot is original and engaging, and the characters, with all their quirks and eccentricities are people I wish I could encounter in my every day life.

 Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore appeals to book-nerds, mystery lovers, conspiracy theorists, and techno-geeks alike.  It’s a great blend of old-school and new-school that is relatable and engrossing.

 As with many novels, this book found its one down-fall in the epilogue.  While Mr. Sloan attempted to tie everything up in a neat little bow, the final chapter felt rushed to say the least.  I felt that it left a lot of questions unanswered and left the reader generally unsatisfied.  In short, Mr. Sloan, I think Mr. Penumbra needs to find another adventure in a sequel (one that will be read just as voraciously as the first.)

 

be250a_63b82707787347248fe50b41c85b6f40.jpg_srb_p_205_317_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srbOkay, so, normally I’m not a huge fan of Christian fiction.  As a general rule, I find the genre as a whole to be a bit on the preachy side.  I picked this book off my shelf on a whim, and was pleasantly surprised.

 I found the plot to be interesting; a reporter finds a bottle in an old house with the dreams of 4 young girls at the start of the great depression and seeks to find out how their stories turned out.  In the process, she finds renewed passion and purpose in her own story.

 That being said, the story progressed and ended the way you would expect it to, but I still enjoyed how it got there.  Overall, it was a nice, light, warm and fuzzy read.

 

be250a_bf15e876e1244afc98cbd4cd3ae535d0.jpg_srb_p_205_307_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srbWhile I enjoyed this concept of this book (once I figured out what was going on,) it took an inexorable amount of time to get to the point.  For such a comparitively short book, I felt like a large part of it was just random, seemingly non-sensical musings.

The story is told from the perspective of a lonely old man and an odd and somewhat neglected 14 year old girl.  Both perspectives tend to drag the reader on through the mundanity of their every day lives with little cohesiveness or connection to the actual plot of the story.  Only towards the end does the book become interesting and does the reader begin to care about the outcome.

Once Ms. Krauss gets the reader hooked, the rest of the book progresses rather quickly to the ending and marriage of the two perspectives… only to leave the reader hanging and unsatisfied once they reach the last page.

 

be250a_6d66387e17cc434ea338ac3c06dfd948.jpg_srb_p_205_325_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srbI loved how this book was structured.  It’s told from the perspective of four different characters (the fourth not appearing until halfway through the novel,) all relatable to a different type of reader.

 The character I related to the most was Heather, the 24 year-old bibliophile and grad student who decides to write her thesis about an out-of-print author whose work changed her perspective on life when she was a teenager.  Like Heather, my perspective changes to some degree with every book I read.

 While the character development and how they relate to one another often feels rushed and at times weird, I found myself completely engrossed in how each of the narrators’ stories would turn out.

 That being said, the end of this book left me with A LOT of questions.  This is one of the few novels that would have benefited from a well-written and well thought out epilogue.

 

be250a_3445d671ad314525ad3a508db5dd9df0.jpg_srb_p_211_320_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srbI picked up this book because I read P.S. I Love You and really enjoyed it.  While this book was completely different in almost every way, I thoroughly enjoyed it as well.

 I related to the main character because as a chronic bibliophile, I have to make a concentrated effort not to seclude myself from life outside of books.  Sandy, , while having completely different reasons for her solitude, is secluded from life outside of her career.

 I absolutely loved the concept of a place where all missing people (and missing socks) end up.  Sandy’s journey through this “Place called Here” is both heart-warming and thought provoking.

 There are only two negative things I can say about this novel.  The first is that I wish there was more development of the relationship between the main character and her love interest.  The progression of their relationship is a bit rushed, jumpy, and often confusing.  The second, both a positive and a negative, is that the author gives the reader so much insight into the population of Here, that I was sad to leave Here and it’s people so abruptly.  Overall, this book was beautifully written with a unique, engaging, and well-structured plot.  Like P.S. I Love You, it left me excited to discover more by Cecelia Ahern.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Hello World!

  1. Sharon says:

    I love the well thought out commentary on contemporary literature. I thoroughly enjoy the trip to a new world myself. As an aspiring author and avid reader, I am often accused of diving head first into the world of fiction. I am grateful for the thoughtful critique of stories of all types.

    Thank you for the insights. Sharon

    Like

Leave a Reply

